Nominations open for 2023 Peter Munk and Eira Thomas Awards

Northern Miner Group president Anthony Vaccaro speaks at the Young Mining Professionals award ceremony in 2022. Young Mining Professionals photo

Young Mining Professionals (YMP), in partnership with The Northern Miner, has opened nominations for the 2023 Young Mining Professional of the Year Awards, the organization said in a release on Thursday. The awards are named after two iconic entrepreneurs in the mining industry, Peter Munk and Eira Thomas.

YMP is soliciting nominations from the public to identify the top leaders in the mining and metals industry. The YMP Awards recognize two young mining entrepreneurs, a male and a female, who over the past year, and during the course of their careers, have demonstrated exceptional leadership skills and innovative thinking to create value for their companies and shareholders, as well as for themselves.

To be considered, nominees must be under the age of 40 as of Dec. 31, 2022; and currently engaged in the mining and metals industry.

Nominations can be submitted online at

Nominations for the Peter Munk Award (male) and the Eira Thomas Award (female) are open to the public until Jan. 27, 2023. YMP and The Northern Miner will select a winner in each category from the nominees submitted. The recipients of each award will be announced in February 2023, or before The Prospectors & Developers Association of Canada convention taking place in March.

The past recipients of the Peter Munk Award are Alex Dorsch, Matthew Fenton, David Cataford, Jose Vizquerra, Stephen de Jong and Nolan Watson. The past recipients of the Eira Thomas Award are Shelby Yee, Maggie Layman, Ashley Kirwan, Andrée St-Germain, Catherine Raw, and Alicia Woods.

Sponsors and supporters of the YMP Awards include Barrick Gold, KPMG, Cassels and Rio Tinto.

YMP is a growing association of mining professionals with chapters in Vancouver, Toronto, Montreal, Sudbury, London U.K, Brisbane, Perth, Peru, Arizona, Switzerland and Mongolia.

For more information visit or email


Be the first to comment on "Nominations open for 2023 Peter Munk and Eira Thomas Awards"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


By continuing to browse you agree to our use of cookies. To learn more, click more information

Dear user, please be aware that we use cookies to help users navigate our website content and to help us understand how we can improve the user experience. If you have ideas for how we can improve our services, we’d love to hear from you. Click here to email us. By continuing to browse you agree to our use of cookies. Please see our Privacy & Cookie Usage Policy to learn more.